Hello, from Jakarta Indonesia

Tell us about yourself. Are you starting out, have you kept Leaf Cutters for a while, are you a researcher. Let the members know what your interests are.
indoant
Egg

Hello, from Jakarta Indonesia

Post by indoant » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:57 am

Hi guys,

I'm still new in keeping ants, originally from Sydney OZ, but currently staying in Indonesia for a short period of time.
My ant hobby started since I resided in Indonesia.

I started with Odontoponera tranversa because there are so many of them around the house, yes those were the first hard words I had to memorize 'Odontoponera transversa' that words are just so cryptic for my simple brain, took me ages to memorize, had to recall over and over again.

While looking after my daughter in the yard, I looked up a mango tree, I saw a ball of leaf with some red ants around it, I decided to disturbed it, just out of curiosity, that was a dumb thing to do, hundreds of red ants came out
These ants were so fast, they crawl everywhere and even bite, so peoples if you see a red ball of leaf on a tree in Asia, leave it alone!
Anyway that was the second hardest word I had to memorize 'Oecophylla smaragdina' such a beautiful ants, the make cool bridges.

So if you answer is NO to the following questions:
Is one ant species enough?
Is one queen enough?
Is one test tube enough?

Then you're an ant addict like me.
Please note, answering NO to the above questions will lead to many formicariums and extreme enjoyment.
You have been warned!
I believed I'm in the right place.

Currently keeping:
Odontoponera transversa
Odontomachus sp 'black'
Oecophylla smaragdina 'Asian'
Camponotus festinus
Coptotermes gestroi
Some other unidentified species
Last edited by indoant on Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:32 am, edited 3 times in total.

Formica123
Sub-Major

Re: Hello, from Jakarta Indonesia

Post by Formica123 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:06 am

Nice to have you here, I've seen you on other forums, you have a nice collection