Photos

Let everyone see the story of your colony(ies) over time. Pictures, developments, success and failures, what works / what doesn't, and your plans for expansion as time goes by!
Sam
Egg

Photos

Post by Sam » Wed May 18, 2016 8:30 am

Hello - Here are my photos !!!(finally)

So - I inherited a thriving ant colony which lived for 3-4 year before petering out, in the setup in the pictures. I then got a new starter last week. I basically tipped them onto the surface of the peat and inverted the little container over them to preserve humidity. They have almost immediately taken leaf, and after forming a 'garden' out of the crumb that came with them, have added to the structure. The Queen is present and she has moved location since arrival which I take as a good sign and is currently sitting on top of the garden. Other than feeding them and observing them I am not a expert at all with ants so would be very grateful for feedback either positive or otherwise on how best to proceed from here!

Mant thanks

Sam

Deansie26
Major

Re: Photos

Post by Deansie26 » Wed May 18, 2016 9:13 am

Hi Sam, I've moved this to the members journals section for you. If you want it renamed let me know.
Nice to see a soil set up, I'm sure the ants prefer this and it looks a great size tank. How are you heatng the set up? Where are you taking the temperature from? Is it Atta or Acromyrmex you have?
Is it in your house as it looks like the tank is in an enclosure? How are you going to stop the ants coming out of the tank?
So did you keep the old colony going for 3-4 Years? Lots of questions!
Jamie

Sam
Egg

Post by Sam » Wed May 18, 2016 9:29 am