Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Let everyone see the story of your colony(ies) over time. Pictures, developments, success and failures, what works / what doesn't, and your plans for expansion as time goes by!
Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Thu May 03, 2018 10:29 am

Haha! That's getting old.....

User avatar
Andyj
Site Admin
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 8:26 pm
Location: Sunny Devon
Contact:

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Andyj » Thu May 03, 2018 10:59 am

Getting,, got. :(

Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Thu May 03, 2018 11:05 am

Andyj wrote:Getting,, got. :(

:D

Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Tue May 22, 2018 11:57 am

Have just collected a month of temperature/humidity data on our new colony.

Image

As you can see, average humidity is not particularly high, but checking the nest material from the top of the tank, it is nicely moist, not too dry at all. I've stopped putting water into the nest area now, as the bottom of the nest chamber has condensation behind the glass and the colony are throwing out a lot of wet fungus and other material into their water, I hope they stop this soon!

Average temperature is OK too at around 27 degrees C. These data loggers are great for keeping a check on things.

User avatar
Acromyrmexbob
Site Admin
Posts: 2056
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Acromyrmexbob » Tue May 22, 2018 10:27 pm

Thats some really good stats, Jackie. Where are you measuring the humidity? And the temperature?
The high temperature setting would be a little too late I think. I would set that at 29C The average temperature may be better a little lower than that. 27 is at the top end of whats ideal. 25C for the average would be better. But again it depends on where specifically you are measuring this.

User avatar
Andyj
Site Admin
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 8:26 pm
Location: Sunny Devon
Contact:

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Andyj » Wed May 23, 2018 8:21 am

Are you using Lascar data logging Jackie, if so which model ?

Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Wed May 23, 2018 12:33 pm

Hi Andy, yes, a Lascar EL-USB-2-LCD. I am measuring these parameters generally, so the data logger sits behind the nest tower. I also have an ambient thermometer which is always at around 27-28 degrees C. You have to bear in mind though that this unit is big, 3m length, 2.8m height and 0.6m depth, so not an enclosed space. I think the environmental conditions are fine, no problems with fungus or activity of colony. Also, we now have night & day settings, so the colony are without light for 10 hours. Quite a bit of heat is generated from the strip lights during the day, when the lights are on for 14 hours.

User avatar
Andyj
Site Admin
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 8:26 pm
Location: Sunny Devon
Contact:

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Andyj » Wed May 23, 2018 4:15 pm

Thanks Jackie, i have a cheaper one coming, different make but i want something which has probes. Just be interesting to see what does happen although something on my scale probably won't be worth doing. But i do love a new toy to play with. :)

Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Wed May 23, 2018 4:20 pm

I think it's always worth it, no matter what type of set up you have. I used to use the same data logger with our Acro set up here, it's a good way of keeping a general check on things.

Jackie62
Minim
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Our new Atta cephalotes colony

Post by Jackie62 » Thu May 24, 2018 2:11 pm

What's your opinion on mites in the nest substrate? Saw quite a lot today, not seen before today. We had mites in our Acro colony tanks....should I be concerned? The colony don't seem to be.

Post Reply